Ela Darling Running for Democratic Assembly District Delegate Seat

Election to take place January 7

LOS ANGELES—Veteran adult performer Ela Darling, who is serving as president of the Adult Performer Advocacy Committee (APAC), is seeking to win a seat as a Democratic Assembly District Delegate in District 39. The election takes place this Saturday, January 7.

Darling is running under her legal name, Rebecca Rubinstein, on a progressive platform with a slate of other candidates focused on creating positive change in the Democratic Party from within. Darling has secured official endorsements from both APAC and the Free Speech Coalition.

Through this position, Darling hopes to provide representation for members of the adult industry, who make up a sizable demographic in District 39. “After successfully campaigning against Prop 60 in 2016, I was inspired to continue to find ways to contribute politically on behalf of our community,” Darling said. “I am disheartened by the results of the presidential election. I decided to run to be one of the 14 Democratic Assembly district delegates for District 39 to give our industry a stronger voice in politics and gain more sway in improving the Democratic Party from within.”

Darling notes that during the industry-wide campaign against Prop 60 last year, the adult industry would have greatly benefited from an industry representative in a position of greater political pull such as this.

She is seeking one of 14 available seats in District 39, which encompasses the northern part of Los Angeles’ San Fernando Valley, including North Hollywood, Sun Valley, Mission Hills, Arleta, Lake View Terrace, Sunland-Tujunga, Pacoima, and Sylmar. To determine your voting district, consult the United Progressives District Finder.

Residents registered to vote in District 39 may vote for Ela Darling on Saturday, January 7. Voting, which must be done in person, will take place at El Cariso Park Multi-Purpose Room, 13100 Hubbard Street, Sylmar, CA 91342. Candidate speeches begin at 10 a.m. and registration and voting is from 10:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here